Four Levels for Evaluating Training

Don Kirkpatrick set the standard in training evaluation in 1959, and ever since, dedicated training professionals have used his Four Levels model for evaluating the impact of their work. The author segments the entire training and development industry into four levels.

In Kirkpatrick's four-level model, each successive evaluation level is built on information provided by the lower level.

Kirkpatricks level 4 pyramid

These levels are:

Level 4 – Results: Those programs which are defined and evaluated by measurable results which are congruent with organizational goals.

Level 3 – Behavior: Those programs which may include activities from both Levels 1 and 2 but are evaluated on whether participants accomplished desired change.

Level 2 – Learning: Those programs which can be evaluated on participants improved knowledge or increased skill.

Level 1 – Reaction: Those programs or activities where the effectiveness is evaluated based on the participants reactions or satisfaction with the activity.

LMI is a Level 4 organizational development company.

Courtesy of Encyclopedia of Educational Technology. Copyright © 1994-2004 San Diego State University.


Copyright ©2008

Home Company Services Total Leader Calendar Tools Podcasts Contact Us Careers